Santa Fe New Mexican


1985 The Rev. Jim Brown, First Presbyterian Church The Honorable Petra Maes, First Judicial District Judge Sisters Patrick Marie and Shirley Le Blanc, Villa Therese Clinic Margo Brace, Rape Crisis Center Gary Bequette, law enforcement Rep. Nick Salazar, state lawmaker Al Sanchez, DeVargas Savings Dan Namingha, Native American (Hopi) painter Don Chunestudey, sculptor, teacher 1986 The Rev. George Salazar and Dan Padilla, St. John the Baptist Church Jane and E.B. Hall, P’OAE PI Gallery Hoyt Mutz, high school coach and counselor David Gurulé, Santa Fe Group Homes Darby McQuade, owner, Jackalope Pottery Rain Parrish, Wheelwright Museum Ramona Chavez and Marie Roark, Los Amigos del Valle 1987 Sister Shirley Le Blanc, Catholic Sisters of Charity Mary Lou Cook, founder of Santa Fe Living Treasures Rena Paradis, Literacy Volunteers Joe Schepps, developer and philanthropist Arturo Gonzales, La Familia Medical Center Jacquie Stevens, potter Elaine Juarros, teacher Sarah Grace, New Mexico AIDS Services Orlando Hernandez, animal shelter Dorothy Wade, volunteer 1988 Sam Arquero, Cochiti Pueblo Ann Dasburg, community and international justice activist Alfonso Garcia, teacher and principal Lynn Kelly, New Vistas Andrew Shea, founder, New Mexico Repertory Theater West Side Residents, United Farrocarril Neighborhood Douglas Schwartz, president, School of American Research Gilberto Romero, mental health advocate Joe C’de Baca, District Attorney’s Office Don Schmidt, AIDS Services 1989 Molly Whitted, former director of Santa Fe Beautiful Gloria Sawtell, Santa Fe Community Foundation Hilbert Sabin, Inter-faith Council, Peace Alliance Arturo Gonzales ,La Familia Medical Center director Michael Riccards, St. John’s College president Paquita Hernandez, founder of Celebrate Youth! Larry Bandfield, founder of Santa Fe Desert Chorale Albert Ortega, Alvord Elementary School principal Ellen Biderman, Ellyn Feldman, Susan McIntosh and Londi Carbajal, Santa Fe Children’s Museum co-founders Anita Shields and Tina Lopez-Snideman, SFCC Women in Transitions program 1990 The Rev. Shirley Greene, United Church of Christ, Habitat for Humanity Julie Padilla, Santa Fe animal shelter Leslie Nordby, Acequia Madre principal State Rep. Roman Maes, D-Santa Fe, for landfill legislation Silver Ortega, city recreation department, involved in local sports Chris Wells, environmental education, All Species Project Edward Ortiz, Santa Fe schools superintendent Connie Trujillo, founder and director of Esperanza Shelter for Battered Families Michael Hamilton, El Parian gallery owner Thomas Reed, founder of Vivigen genetic-testing laboratory 1991 Carol Decker, Spanish teacher and Vincenes neighborhood program Dan Padilla, St. John the Baptist Soup Kitchen Lenny Roybal, basketball coach Suzanne H. Garcia, Maternal Child and Health Clinic Michael Hice, AIDS & Comfort board, community foundation Linda Espinosa, Santa Fe High security guard Sam Hitt, forest preservation Geraldine Salazar, Santa Fe Rape Crisis Center Robert B. Gaylor and Linda Klosky, founders, Center for Contemporary Arts Paula Devitt and Alice Sisneros, nurses, designed “Heartsaver” CPR program 1992 Lorraine Goldman, executive director of Partners in Education Katherine Kagel, owner of Café Pasqual’s and Food Depot organizer Skip Helms, stockbroker, United Way fundraising Mike Bachicha, tennis pro and fundraiser Kenneth Siciliano, AIDS activist Jacob Viarrial, Pojoaque Pueblo governor Stuart Stein, land-use and water rights attorney in La Cienega James Rutherford, director of the Governor’s Gallery Gerald Chacon, Rio Arriba agricultural extension agent, ranchers’ rights Francella Perea, teacher, teen parent center 1993 Jóse Rámon López, awardReinhardt, winning Spanish Colonial santero Ana Gallegos y founder of Warehouse 21 John Stephenson, founder, Santa Fe Community Garden Art Sanchez, city councilor, advocate for purchase of water system Diane Reyna, Taos Pueblo, videographer Al Wadle, gallery owner and volunteer fundraiser for the Santa Fe Community Foundation Carol Miller, public health advocate and administrator Dottie Montoya, Española Valley High School nurse Richard Lucero, Española mayor, for downtown Plaza Stephen Chambers and Marcy Grace, founders, Hope House residence for people with AIDS 1994 Juan Vigil, owner Stables art space on Canyon Road Nancy Porter, Santa Fe Food Brigade Peter Chapin, president, Santa Fe Habitat for Humanity Rebekah Bloom Wolf, middle school student and La Residencia volunteer Florian Artie Garcia, president, Santa Fe CARES Jewel Cabeza de Vaca, Mana del Norte Mary Karshis, nurse and patients’ advocate at St. Vincent Hospital José Villegas, La Cienega neighborhood organizer Endelecia Prince, Española ballet teacher John Cammarata, academic counselor at Santa Fe Indian School